Economic policy

Kansas City Fed to Host Online Economic Policy Symposium

KANSAS CITY, MISSOURI – Due to the recently elevated COVID-19 health risk level in Teton County, Wyo., The Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City will host its 2021 Economic Policy Symposium, “Macroeconomic Policy in an Unequal Economy,” virtually on Friday August 27. .

“While we are disappointed that sanitary conditions prevent us from gathering in person at Jackson Lake Lodge this year as we planned, the safety of our guests and the Teton County community is our priority,” said Esther George, President. and CEO of the Kansas City Fed.

Remarks by Federal Reserve Chairman Jerome Powell will be broadcast live to the public at 9 a.m. CT / 10 a.m. ET on August 27 via the Kansas City Fed YouTube channel at external linkwww.youtube.com/KansasCityFed. Invited participants will participate in an online academic symposium following the keynote.

The full program schedule will be available at external linkwww.KansasCityFed.org at 7 p.m. CT/8 p.m. ET on August 26. Continuing past practice, conference papers and other materials will be posted as they are presented at the event. After the event, a transcript will be posted on the Bank’s public website.

Since 1978, the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City has sponsored a symposium on an important economic issue facing the US and world economies. Each year, the event provides central bankers, Federal Reserve officials, other policymakers, and academics a place to discuss issues of common concern. Visit external linkkansascityfed.org to learn more about the history of the symposium.